I got handed a nicely interesting project and given mostly free reign to use whatever I wanted to for it. Of course, the first thing I did was look at .Net 3.5 and ask myself what seemed cool that I haven’t had a chance to play with yet. LINQ was the obvious first choice.

I decided to try using LINQ to SQL in the data access layer. It seemed like an obvious thing to do, but a funny thing happened on the way to finishing up the app. It looked more and more like LINQ to SQL shouldn’t be in the DAL, but that it should replace it.

So far so good.  And I have to say, after using LINQ for a week I don’t ever want to go back to writing T-SQL again. The syntax is little yoda-ish at first, but after a short warming up period I find myself using it everywhere, not just for SQL.

I’m still not sure how well LINQ to SQL will hold up as the app ages and expands, but my first gut is that it shouldn’t fare any worse than with a traditional DAL. 

BTW, I was joking about the other TLAs. Three is enough.

